Shopping excursion

Yesterday Linda and I rode bikes to the large department store. The bike system is quite elaborate. I wish we had one in the States. I used my bus card to swipe the reader at the bus stand. The bike stall unlocks and the bike is registered to me. If I dock it under one hour there is no charge. Since docks can be found all over, a typical strategy is to ride for one hour, dock the bike and take a new one. In this way you can ride for hours with no charge.  So we took our bikes from the stand right outside our apartment and docked them outside the department store. The ride was a little hair-raising. Bike lanes keep you separated from traffic but the traffic in the bike lanes is heavy. E-bikes whiz by you and honk just as they are behind you. Bikes and e-bikes are going in both directions but not staying to one side; you have to watch ahead, behind and to the side constantly. Cars and busses turn into your path at intersections. (Cars have the right of way.) A entire family of four will ride on an e-bike with the baby in the driver’s lap. When I got to the end of my ride, I felt I had really accomplished something. I plan to take a more leisurely ride down the canal soon. My biggest success at the department store was finding a large display of silk long underwear.  Classrooms and busses are not heated. Next I need to find a pair of all-weather shoes.  In the photo you can see riders waiting for the light to change at an intersection near my apartment. The photo below that shows one of the public bike docks.
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Shopping excursion

  1. Paula says:

    Wow, I bet you really have to concentrate when you are riding. I am sure I would not be able to ride a bike there with my i-pod and Bruce Springstein blaring in my ears. Seriously, I must have way too much time on my hands because it seems like I am one of a few commenting on your blog. Well, "ride on" Oh, do you have classes every day?

  2. Paula says:

    You have to teach in a classroom all day without HEAT! You have got to be kidding me.

  3. Esther says:

    james and i love this! please be careful, though!

  4. Dianne says:

    You are very brave!

  5. Ruth says:

    Thanks for all your comments. Paula, I have been told readers like reading comments almost as much as the blog. Keep on! The NEA wouldn\’t be too happy about the classroom heat situation, that\’s true. I have classes Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday, 8 classes, about 230 students. Monday and Friday planning days. Tuesday and Thursday is an hour bus ride back and forth to get to the other campus. That doesn\’t count making up holiday classes on Sundays, which I have done twice now.

  6. Karen says:

    Knee-high, Ruth. 🙂 Sounds like you are doing well. Fabulous that you get to ride a bike like this as part of a routine. What a way to get around. You sound like you are enjoying your students, too.

Leave a Reply

